Quick Astrology 2021: What Does The Second House In Your Birth Chart Mean?

Amber Alexandria
2 min readDec 14, 2021
Photo Credit: Kristijan Arsov

What do the 12 houses in your birth chart mean?

We are influenced by planetary energies in our solar system.

Each planet holds its own distinct energy. Based on the planetary energy a planet can have more influence over different areas of our life.

The 12 houses are created from the sun’s journey around the 12 zodiac star constellations — first house being Aries.

To better understand the energetic impact the zodiac star constellations have upon us, we assign personality traits to them — like Sagittarius being adventurous.

In astrology to make a “house” you combine a ruling planet and a zodiac sign.

Formula: ruling planet + a zodiac sign = a house

The ruling planet is the overall energy of a house and the zodiac sign is how that energy will be expressed.

The 12 houses on a birth chart are the same for everyone, but the planets are in different rotational cycles during the time of a person’s birth. Allowing for different planetary energies to have significant influence over an individual’s life.

The Second House (Venus + Taurus)

  • Possessions
  • Values
  • Self worth
  • Financial transactions

The second house is commonly referred to as The House of Possessions. Venus brings the energy of love, pleasure and what we value in life. Taurus expresses itself through possessions. This could be possessing lots of money or it could be possessing great spiritual insights.

When it comes to money the second house and the eleventh house often get confused with each other.

The second house is about how we interact with our money — saving habits or financial transactions. The eleventh house is more of an indicator of how we will make this money — career, etc.