Quick Astrology 2021: What Does The Sixth House In Your Birth Chart Mean?

Amber Alexandria
2 min readDec 9, 2021


Photo Credit: Jason Briscoe

What do the 12 houses in your birth chart mean?

Our lives here on Earth are heavily influenced by the planets and zodiac star constellations during our time of birth.

The 12 houses are created from the sun’s journey around the 12 zodiac star constellations — Aries being the first house, Pisces being the twelfth house.

Each planet holds its own distinctive energy — like Venus being associated with love.

Each zodiac star constellation is described through personality traits — like Sagittarius being adventurous.

Each of the 12 zodiac signs are ruled by a planet. When you energetically combine a zodiac sign and its ruling planet you get a “house.”

Formula: ruling planet + a zodiac sign = a house

The ruling planet is the overall energy of a house and the zodiac sign is how that energy will be expressed.

The foundation for the 12 houses on a birth chart are the same for everyone, but the actual planets are in different rotational cycles during the time of a person’s birth. Allowing for an individual to be influenced by different energies.

The Sixth House (Mercury + Virgo)

  • Health
  • Healing
  • Daily routine
  • Fitness
  • Work habits

The sixth house is commonly referred to as The House of Health. Mercury rules over the zodiac sign Virgo, as well as in the third house Gemini. Mercury is all about the way in which we think and our thinking patterns. Virgo is about system, practicality and logic.

In the sixth house you can find more insight into issues surrounding sickness and health. This is also the house of overcoming obstacles in life.

This house can also give an indication as to someone being in service to others and helping them with their well-being.